Pay-Per-Conversion Affiliate Programs for AI SaaS in 2026: What Actually Pays, and What Doesn’t Anymore

RELEASE

EDITION

READING TIME

15–23 minutes
AI SaaS affiliate program terms comparison showing differences between vendor claims and official affiliate conditions

Search “best AI affiliate programs” and you get the same twelve names, the same commission numbers, and, in more than one case, numbers that stopped being true a year ago. That’s the actual problem facing anyone trying to build a content or media-buying operation around AI SaaS affiliate programs in 2026. It isn’t that pay per conversion affiliate programs for AI tools don’t exist or don’t pay well — several pay very well. It’s that the layer of information most affiliates work from is a stack of listicles copying each other’s numbers, some of which were accurate in 2023 and haven’t been touched since.

Two examples make the point before we go anywhere near a commission table.

Jasper’s own Marketing Affiliate Program Agreement gives affiliates a 14-day window: if a referred lead doesn’t purchase within 14 days of the first click, the lead is void, full stop, “even if the Affiliate Lead decides to purchase after the time period has expired.” Search around, though, and you’ll find affiliate directories quoting a 45-day cookie, others quoting 30, one quoting 14 dressed up as “up to 45 with tiers.” Only one of those numbers is in the contract.

Writesonic is the sharper example. Its live affiliate page states, in plain language, 20% recurring for 12 months on a 60-day cookie. Plenty of directories — some updated within the last few months — still advertise “30% lifetime” or “40% for Chatsonic.” That 30% lifetime figure was real once. It isn’t now. An affiliate who builds a comparison page or a media-buying model around it is forecasting revenue that doesn’t exist.

This is the environment pay-per-conversion affiliates are actually operating in for AI SaaS right now: fast-moving terms, program consolidations, product-line restructuring, and a content layer that hasn’t caught up. What follows is a program-by-program breakdown pulled from official affiliate terms and current program pages rather than aggregator copy, plus the economics that determine whether a given program is actually worth your time once the marketing language is stripped away.

Comparison of affiliate commission models for AI SaaS programs, including CPA and recurring commissions

What “Pay Per Conversion” Actually Means Once You’re Inside the Terms

Pay per conversion and pay per action get used interchangeably in this niche, and the difference matters less than what triggers the payment. Three models dominate the AI SaaS affiliate space right now.

One-time CPA pays a fixed or percentage-based amount the moment a defined action happens — usually a first paid subscription, sometimes a completed trial activation. Semrush’s per-sale bounty and Surfer SEO’s structure (despite being marketed as “recurring”) both fall here: the affiliate gets paid once, on the customer’s first payment, and nothing after.

Recurring revenue share pays a percentage of every payment a referred customer makes, for as long as they stay subscribed or up to a stated cap. Jasper, ElevenLabs, Synthesia, Writesonic, and GetResponse all use this model, but the cap varies — 12 months is the near-universal ceiling among the programs checked here, not “lifetime,” whatever a directory site claims.

Hybrid CPA-plus-trial pays a small bounty for a free trial or sign-up alongside a larger bounty for the eventual sale. Semrush does this: $10 per trial activation stacked on top of the per-sale commission, which is a genuinely different economic proposition than a pure CPA offer, because it pays affiliates for driving qualified top-of-funnel activity even when the sale doesn’t close in the same session.

The event that actually triggers payment is the detail affiliates skip past most often, and it’s the one that decides whether a traffic source works at all. A program that pays on “activated paid customer” behaves completely differently from one that pays on “free sign-up” — the second is closer to a lead-gen CPA offer than a SaaS affiliate deal, and it changes what kind of content converts. Grammarly’s program is the clearest case of this ambiguity in the set reviewed here: its affiliate terms define a “Qualified Action,” a deliberately broad category that can mean different things depending on which specific offer, and which of the several networks it currently runs on (Impact, alongside a legacy footprint across HasOffers, CJ, and PartnerStack), an affiliate is actually approved into. There is no single public flat rate for Grammarly the way there is for Jasper or ElevenLabs — third-party trackers cite a $0.20–$20 per-lead range, but that range spans genuinely different offer types, and the only way to know which one applies is to read the specific offer terms inside your affiliate dashboard after approval.

Eight AI SaaS Affiliate Programs, Checked Against Their Own Terms

AI SaaS affiliate commission comparison showing different payout structures and recurring payment terms

Every figure below comes from the vendor’s own affiliate agreement or current program page, checked in September 2026. Where a program has changed materially in the last year, that’s called out, because the change itself is the useful data point for anyone deciding where to put content.

Jasper AI. Twenty-five percent recurring commission on the Creator and Teams plans, paid for the first 12 months of the customer’s subscription and no longer after that, regardless of how long the customer stays. Business-plan sign-ups are explicitly excluded from commission entirely. The rate rises to 30% only after an affiliate generates 100 leads and converts 100 of them to paying customers within a rolling 12-month window — a genuinely high bar most content affiliates won’t clear. The cookie is 14 days, run through FirstPromoter, with a $25 minimum payout via PayPal or Wise. Refunds and chargebacks claw the commission back out of future payments. Paid search on any Jasper-adjacent brand term, including retired product names like “Conversion.ai,” is banned outright and will get the account terminated with commissions forfeited, not just paused.

Writesonic. Twenty percent recurring for up to 12 months, 60-day cookie, paid monthly through FirstPromoter after a 30-day hold following the customer’s conversion to paid, with a $50 threshold. This is a straightforward, well-documented program, notable mainly because it’s a smaller number than most of the internet still says it is — the 30%-to-40% “lifetime” figures that circulate are stale. Writesonic’s own written terms ban bidding on the brand name (including misspellings) and prohibit self-referral outright, framing it explicitly as not a way to get a personal discount.

Surfer SEO. Marketed everywhere as “up to 125% recurring,” which overstates what the contract actually says on both counts. It’s a one-time commission, paid only on the customer’s first payment — Surfer’s terms are explicit that if that same customer later switches from monthly to annual billing, no second commission is owed. The 125% figure is real, but it’s a percentage of one month’s subscription price, and only at Gold tier (51+ referred paying customers). New affiliates start at Starter tier: 75% of one month’s payment, or 15% of one year’s payment. The cookie is 90 days, payouts are net-45 via bank transfer or PayPal, and — a rule most competitors don’t have — if more than 55% of an affiliate’s referred customers cancel within a given month, that entire month’s commissions are void.

Semrush. The highest-ticket program in this set, and structurally the most complicated, because Semrush restructured its own product suite in the last two years into a bundle called Semrush One plus seven standalone toolkits, each carrying a different per-sale rate. Semrush One pays $300 per sale at the base tier, scaling to $450 at the top volume tier; the SEO Toolkit and Traffic & Market Toolkit each pay $200; the newer AI Visibility Toolkit — built specifically to track brand presence inside ChatGPT, Gemini, and AI Overviews — pays $100 per sale with no trial bounty attached; Content, Advertising, Social, and Local toolkits pay $50–$100. Every product also carries a $10 trial-activation bounty except AI Visibility. The program runs on Impact.com with 120-day last-click attribution and quarterly volume tiers that also unlock separate content bonuses up to $1,500 a quarter. This is a one-time CPA structure, not recurring, whatever the size of the number makes it feel like.

ElevenLabs. Twenty-two percent recurring on every payment a referred customer makes in their first 12 months, excluding Enterprise. Ninety-day cookie, run on PartnerStack, $5 minimum payout, paid between the 1st and 15th of each month — but commissions only release once the referred license has been active for more than 90 days, a meaningfully longer hold than most programs disclose up front. Self-referral is explicitly barred, and refunds are deducted from future commission runs rather than invoiced back.

Synthesia. Twenty-five percent recurring for 12 months, but only on the Starter and Creator plans — Enterprise deals aren’t commissionable through the standard program at all. Sixty-day cookie via Rewardful, $30 minimum, paid monthly, PayPal only. Synthesia publishes an illustrative $267 maximum per-customer figure, which only holds if the referral takes the full-price Creator annual plan and stays for the entire 12-month window.

Grammarly. Included here because it’s the AI writing-assistant program every SEO affiliate will eventually be asked about, and because it’s the best real illustration of program-consolidation risk in this space. In April 2026, Superhuman’s Coda affiliate program — a separate product under the same parent company — was formally sunset, with all Coda commissions stopping as of April 13, 2026, and existing Coda affiliates redirected to sign up fresh for the unified Grammarly program on Impact. Anyone who had built content around Coda’s specific commission structure lost that revenue line with a support-article’s worth of notice. Grammarly’s own terms describe payment on a “Qualified Action” across whichever offers and networks an affiliate is approved into, without a single published flat rate — treat any third-party number for Grammarly as a starting point to verify inside your own dashboard, not a rate to promise a client.

GetResponse. The clear standout for pure recurring economics among AI-adjacent SaaS: 40% for the first 12 months at entry (Bronze), rising to 50% after 50 referred sales in a rolling 12-month period (Silver), and 60% after 100 sales (Gold) — still capped at 12 months of recurring payments per customer, not lifetime. Ninety-day cookie, PartnerStack, payments released around the 13th of each month. GetResponse’s own program page carries a testimonial from Leslie Samuel, an online business coach, stating he’s earned “over $90,000” promoting the platform as an affiliate — a real, attributable figure rather than a hypothetical, and a useful sanity check on what sustained volume in this tier can actually produce.

ProgramModelCommissionDuration / CapCookieNetworkMin. Payout
Jasper AIRecurring25% (30% at 100 conv.)12 months per customer14 daysFirstPromoter$25
WritesonicRecurring20%12 months per customer60 daysFirstPromoter$50
Surfer SEOOne-time CPA75–125% of 1st month / 15–25% of 1st yearFirst payment only90 daysPartnerStackNot stated
SemrushOne-time CPA$50–$450 per sale + $10/trialFirst payment only120 daysImpact.com$50
ElevenLabsRecurring22%12 months per customer90 daysPartnerStack$5
SynthesiaRecurring25%12 months, Starter/Creator only60 daysRewardful$30
GrammarlyCPA per lead (varies by offer)$0.20–$20 (offer-dependent)One-time90 days*Impact / multi-network$50*
GetResponseRecurring, tiered40% → 50% → 60%12 months per customer90 daysPartnerStackNot stated

The Fine Print That Decides Whether You Get Paid at All

AI SaaS affiliate marketing economics showing the relationship between commission, customer retention, and revenue

Every program above shares a near-identical skeleton of restrictions, and skipping past them is the single most common way affiliates in this niche do real work and then don’t get paid for it.

Self-referral is banned everywhere, without exception, across all eight programs — Surfer, Jasper, Writesonic, and ElevenLabs all state it isn’t just against the rules but explicitly not a discount mechanism.

Brand-term paid search is either banned outright or requires written permission. Jasper maintains an actual list of banned keywords including legacy product names. Surfer requires written consent before running any search ads at all, not just branded ones. Semrush bans branded PPC and any use of “Semrush review” as an ad keyword. If a media-buying plan includes bidding on the product’s own name to intercept branded search, read the specific agreement — in most of these programs that’s not a gray area, it’s a bannable offense with commissions voided retroactively.

Incentivized traffic — cashback, rewards points, “sign up through my link and I’ll give you X” — is prohibited across the board. Surfer’s terms name this specifically as “cashback” promotion and ban it explicitly, as does Jasper.

Refund and chargeback clawback is standard, not exceptional. Every program reviewed here recoups commission from a customer who refunds or charges back, usually by deducting it from the affiliate’s next payment run rather than invoicing separately. Jasper adds a wrinkle most affiliates miss: if the referred customer isn’t “in good standing” for the 30 days immediately following the transaction, the commission on that transaction is permanently forfeited — not delayed, forfeited.

Direct linking is generally allowed, but the underlying attribution model still matters more than the policy on link format. Semrush and Surfer both run last-click, 90-to-120-day cookies; Jasper’s 14-day window is genuinely short by comparison and rewards affiliates who can close the loop fast rather than nurture over weeks.

Approval is required everywhere, and none of the eight run as fully automatic sign-up-and-go programs — Jasper gives itself 60 days to respond to an application before automatically treating it as rejected, a longer silence than most affiliates expect going in.

Doing the Math: CPA vs Recurring, With Real Numbers

The number that matters isn’t the headline commission rate — it’s projected revenue per converted customer, and that number depends entirely on retention, which none of these vendors publish and which most SaaS review content quietly ignores.

The other side of the calculation is what you can afford to pay for the traffic that produces those conversions. Our guide to affiliate break-even CPC shows how payout, conversion rate, approval rate and other costs translate into the maximum CPC a campaign can sustain.

Take a Jasper Creator-plan referral paying $49/month. At 25% recurring, that’s $12.25/month, capped at 12 months regardless of whether the customer stays five years — a maximum lifetime payout of roughly $147 per referral, full stop, even in the best-case scenario where the customer never churns.

Example of recurring affiliate commission earnings over a customer subscription period

Compare that to a Semrush SEO Toolkit sale at roughly $139.95/month: a flat $200 one-time CPA payout, paid once, on the first payment, with no ongoing relationship to the customer’s actual tenure at all.

Run those side by side against typical AI-SaaS monthly churn — industry benchmarks for mid-market SaaS generally sit somewhere in the 3–7% monthly range, and AI-native tools with a lot of trial-driven, low-switching-cost users tend to sit toward the higher end of that band — and the one-time CPA usually wins on pure expected value for anything with churn above roughly 4–5% a month, because the recurring model’s theoretical advantage evaporates once you account for how few referred customers actually stay subscribed long enough to hit month six, let alone month twelve.

GetResponse changes this calculation because email-marketing tools have historically shown meaningfully lower churn than pure AI writing or generation tools — the product gets embedded into a business’s actual operational workflow rather than used opportunistically for a single campaign. At 40% recurring on a $30/month Marketing-plan referral held for a full 12 months, that’s $144 — comparable to the Semrush CPA payout, but only if the customer actually sticks around for the full year, which is exactly the assumption a media buyer should stress-test before building a forecast, not after.

The practical rule: recurring commission models only beat one-time CPA when three things are simultaneously true — the plan price is meaningful (under roughly $30/month, even 40–60% recurring rarely outpaces a well-priced CPA offer), the product category has demonstrated retention (workflow tools beat novelty tools), and the affiliate’s traffic is bottom-of-funnel enough to convert customers who were already planning to buy rather than impulse trial-hoppers who cancel inside 60 days.

AI SaaS Affiliate Commission Calculator

The examples above use specific affiliate program terms, but your own traffic, conversion rate and customer retention will be different. Use this AI SaaS affiliate commission calculator to estimate recurring affiliate commission, one-time CPA earnings, lifetime EPC and break-even CPC from your own assumptions.

It is designed for affiliates comparing recurring vs. one-time CPA programs. Change the plan price, commission rate, retention, conversion rate and traffic volume to see how the economics change. The model is illustrative rather than a market benchmark.

SaaS Affiliate Commission Calculator

Estimate monthly commission, lifetime value per click and break-even CPC for a capped recurring or one-time CPA program.

Scenario:
Your own data beats any benchmark. 0.3 / 0.75 / 1.0 are illustrative.
Illustrative share of referred customers expected to remain paying after 12 months. Your own cohort data is better.
Steady-state monthly commission
$0
New paying customers / month0
Expected paid months inside the cap0
Expected commission per customer$0
First-month commission only$0
Total commission in first 12 months$0
Per click and break-even
Lifetime EPC (earnings per click)$0
Break-even CPC before other costs$0
Contribution per 1,000 clicks$0
Reverse: what do you need?
Customers needed / month0
Clicks needed / month0

Illustrative model, not market data. Results are before refunds, taxes, traffic costs and other operating costs. Recurring mode converts 12-month customer retention into a constant monthly churn rate, so real early churn can be front-loaded and the true figure may be lower. Check each affiliate program’s official terms.

How to read it: if the recurring program only looks attractive when you assume unusually strong retention, the one-time CPA may be economically stronger even if the recurring percentage looks better on the affiliate-program page. That is the same distinction we use throughout this analysis: headline commission rates are not the same thing as expected affiliate revenue.

What the Listicles Say vs. What the Vendor’s Own Terms Say

The table below isn’t a comparison of programs. It’s a comparison of the same program described two ways — by the affiliate-blog ecosystem, and by the document the affiliate actually signs. This is the gap that costs affiliates money before they’ve sent a single click.

ProgramCommonly Repeated ClaimWhat the Official Terms Say (Sept 2026)
Jasper AI45-day or 30-day cookie window14-day cookie, stated explicitly in the Marketing Affiliate Program Agreement
Writesonic"30% lifetime" or "40% for Chatsonic"20% recurring, capped at 12 months, per the current writesonic.com/affiliate page
Surfer SEO"25% recurring" or flat "30% per sale"One-time CPA only, tiered 75–125% of the first month's payment; no second commission on upgrade
SemrushFlat "$200 per sale"Per-product rate from $50 to $450 depending on toolkit and quarterly volume tier
AhrefsListed as an active Impact.com program by several directoriesNo affiliate program since roughly 2018, confirmed directly by Ahrefs' CMO, with no relaunch announced

Where the Market Is Actually Moving

PartnerStack’s own January 2026 research puts total software GMV moving through its network at $2.7 billion for 2025, up 52% year over year — a figure the network frames explicitly against a broader digital-advertising slowdown, arguing that vendors are shifting spend from paid acquisition toward performance-based partnerships instead. More telling than the topline number: paid customer conversions grew 112% year over year, more than the 70% growth in qualified sign-ups and the 120% growth in raw customer actions — meaning the mix of traffic moving through affiliate and partner channels skewed toward people who were actually ready to buy, not just click.

AI SaaS affiliate program market growth and partner-driven software sales data

Within that growth, PartnerStack’s internal ranking of AI-category programs for 2026 points toward infrastructure and workflow-automation tools — voice platforms like ElevenLabs, sales-automation tools like AiSDR and Lusha, creative-generation platforms like AdCreative — as the categories pulling the most affiliate commission growth, specifically because these vendors are structuring offers around lifetime-value sharing rather than one-off acquisition bounties. That’s the opposite of what the Semrush and Surfer SEO cases above illustrate, and it’s worth sitting with the contradiction rather than smoothing it over: the biggest, most established SEO-tool programs in this space still run on one-time CPA underneath recurring-sounding marketing copy, while a newer wave of AI infrastructure and automation tools is building recurring-first economics into the program design from day one.

The clearest cautionary tale for anyone building a content plan around a specific program’s numbers is Ahrefs — not included in the comparison table above because it doesn’t currently have a program to compare. Ahrefs’ own CMO published a blog post explaining, in his words, that the pages ranking for “ahrefs affiliate program” were “quite sketchy (and misleading),” and confirming the company killed its program years earlier with no plans to revive it. That post is still live. Third-party affiliate directories, as of this year, still list Ahrefs as an active Impact.com program with a join button. One of those two sources is the company; the other is a directory that never checked.

Key Takeaways

  • Verify against the vendor’s own affiliate agreement, not a directory or a listicle, for every single term — commission rate, cookie window, and payout minimum all drift over time, and the drift is almost always downward for the affiliate.
  • “Recurring” and “lifetime” are not the same word. Every recurring program checked here caps at 12 months of payments per customer; none pay for the customer’s full tenure.
  • The event that triggers payment matters more than the percentage. A 60% commission on a free sign-up is worth less than a 20% commission on an activated paid customer.
  • One-time CPA frequently beats recurring on expected value once realistic AI-SaaS churn is priced in — do the retention math before picking a program, not after building a campaign around it.
  • Program consolidations happen with little warning. Coda affiliates lost their program to a Grammarly merger with about two weeks’ notice; treat any single-vendor income stream as something to diversify against, not build a whole content strategy on top of.
  • A program with no public listing may genuinely not exist, whatever a directory site says. Ahrefs said so directly, years ago, and directories are still wrong about it.

Leave a Reply

AUTHOR

Noah Svensson Avatar

Written by

ALL TAGS

Discover more from AFFStudio

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading